RSS

Great First Lines . . . Get Picked Up by A Good Book!

10 Sep

First lines of books are a great tool for reader’s advisory.  Check out these first lines of popular young adult titles.

Somehow I knew my time had come when Bambi Barnes tore her order book into little pieces, hurled it in the air like confetti, and got fired from the Rainbow Diner in Pensacola right in the middle of lunchtime rush.

Hope Was Here Joan Bauer

The worst night of my life?  My first and last date with Angela O’Bannon.

Son of the Mob Gordon Korman

Things had been getting a little better until I got a letter from my dead sister.  That more or less ruined my day.

Dead Girls Don’t Write Letters Gail Giles

It is a sad and shocking fact of my young life that my parents named me Mary Elizabeth Cep by mistake.

Confessions of a Teenage Drama Queen Dyan Sheldon

I was the first one in the family to know when Mama started to go insane.

Or Give Me Death: A Novel of Patrick Henry’s Family Ann Rinaldi

12th Day of September.  I am commanded to write an account of my days: I am bit by fleas and plagued by family.  That is all there is to say.

Catherine, Called Birdy Karen Cushman

Once upon a time there was a pair of pants.

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants Ann Brashares

The reason Weetzie Bat hated high school was because no one understood.

Weetzie Bat Francesca Lia Block

Henry got up early on the day that changed his life.

Faerie Wars Herbie Brennan

It’s the first morning of high school.  I have seven new notebooks, a skirt I hate, and a stomachache.

Speak Laurie Halse Anderson

We went to the moon to have fun, but the moon turned out to completely suck.

Feed M.T. Anderson

My name is Shawn McDaniel.  My life is like one of those good news-bad news jokes.  Like, I’ve got some good news and some bad news which do you want hear first?

Stuck in Neutral Terry Trueman

I shouldn’t have come back to Miami.

Nothing to Lose Alex Flinn

I was the ghost of school corridors.  Skye was the devil.  And I was doomed from the day she spoke to me.

Playing in Traffic Gail Giles

My mother is dead.  Dad killed her.

When Dad Killed Mom Julius Lester

April used to be my sister.  She used to be nine and charming.  She used to respect the two most important laws of sisterhood:  Thou shalt not spy and Thou shalt not report thy sister’s crimes to the authorities.

Perfect Natasha Friend

I’m a sweating fat kid standing on the edge of the subway platform staring at the tracks.

Fat Kid Rules the World K.L. Going

This is a nightmare.  Working at the Toronto Transit Commission’s lost and found.  Nine to five.  Monday to Friday.  A little slice of death, one day at a time.

Acceleration Graham McNamee

When the carriage turned onto Stone Street, it was as though the house were watching.  There were two gables with a window in each, curtains slightly parted like cats’ eyes, not quite closed, spying.

Jade Green Phyllis Reynolds Naylor

When summer comes to the North Woods, time slows down.  And some days it stops altogether.

A Northern Light Jennifer Donnelly

I found him in the garage on a Sunday afternoon.

Skellig David Almond

Simon Glass was easy to hate.

Shattering Glass Gail Giles

My name is Elizabeth but no one’s ever called me that.  My father took one look at me when I was born and must have thought I had the face of someone dignified and sad, like an old-fashioned queen or dead person, but what I turned out like is plain, not much there to notice.  Even my life so far has been plain.  More Daisy than Elizabeth from the word go…Mostly everything changed because of Edmond.

How I Live Now Meg Rosoff

I was a misfit.  If you’d asked me, I’d have guessed school uniforms were a good idea.  Like camouflage.  I’d been kidding myself.

Breaking Point Alex Flinn

All I want is a maple bar; but I don’t think these kids with the guns care about what I want.

Inside Out Terry Trueman

My only brother is a veg.  Yep, a full-fledged drooling, fourteen-year-old idiot.  If you were to call him that, you’d have a big problem on your hands – namely me!

Cruise Control Terry Trueman

Booklist created by Rose Allen

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 10, 2009 in Booklists

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
