RSS

Great First Lines . . . Get Picked Up by A Good Book! Second Edition

08 Oct

Another list of first lines for great young adult literature.

It’s so hard to talk when you want to kill yourself.

It’s Kind of Funny Story Ned Vizzini

A cappuccino cost me my life.

Cupcake Rachel Cohn

I admit it. I’ve been scared shitless lots of times.

Black and White Paul Volponi

The early summer sky was the color of cat vomit.

Uglies Scott Westerfeld

First thing I did was, I stole a body.

Repossessed A. M. Jenkins

The woods were silent, other than the screaming.

The Game of Sunken Places M.T. Anderson

I was in my makeshift darkroom above the garage developing my umpteenth print of Peter Terris, an individual of full-orbed gorgeousness who needs absolutely no retouching, an individual oozing with classic tones and highlights who barely knew that I was alive.

Thwonk Joan Bauer

When the Dead Man got Rachel I was sitting in the back of a wrecked Mercedes wondering if the rain was going to stop.

The Road of the Dead Kevin Brooks

I am responsible for a great many things, but being put on detention for talking in history was not my fault (not technically, anyway).

Walking Naked Alyssa Brugman

Heller and his bike burst onto Sixth Avenue, and none of the cars saw him coming.

Burning City Ariel and Joaquin Dorfman

She was born Anidori-Kiladra Talianna Isilee, Crown Princess of Kildenree, and she did not open her eyes for three days.

The Goose Girl Shannon Hale

Getting punched hard in the face is a singular experience.

Godless Pete Hautman

It was the stench seeping in through the car windows that bothered Tom the most.

Sign of the Raven Julie Hearn

When the doorbell rings at three in the morning, it’s never good news.

Stormbreaker Anthony Horowitz

Since I’ve been pretty much treading water all day, the marquee of the Rialto Theater looks like the prow of a ship coming to save me.

Stoner & Spaz Ron Koertge

The thing about a cavity search is this: it has nothing to do with the dentist.

Born to Rock Gordan Korman

The police arrived, then the paramedics, then the police photographer, and after that Jude lost track.

Jude Kate Morgenroth

The wait of the dead was the loneliest thing Nikki could ever have imagined.

Dead Connection Charlie Price

It was a dark, blustery afternoon in spring, and the city of London was chasing a small mining town across the dries-out bed of the old North Sea.

Mortal Engines Philip Reeve

I don’t really remember when I first met the Schwa, he was just kind of always there, like the killer potholes on Avenue U or the Afghans barking out the windows above Crawley’s restaurant.

The Schwa Was Here Neal Shusterman

I can remember what things were like before she got sick: my whole family climbed into the big hammock on the moondappled beach, wove ourselves together, and swayed as one.

Stop Pretending Sonya Sones

The airship lumbered low overhead, it’s long, lined belly a dull smear of silvery light in the fog as it reflected the gas lamps of the city beneath.

The Haunting of Alaizabel Cray Chris Wooding

I never thought I would save the world – or die saving it.

The Extraordinary Adventures of Alfred Kropp Rick Yancey

Though I tried to clear my head of the effects of the fat, resiny doobie I polished off an hour before, things were still fuzzy as I stumbled into the senior counselor Jeff DeMouy’s office.

Rats Saw God Rob Thomas

So, I got kicked out of school today, which is not so great but also not entirely unexpected, and I went back to Public Housing where I live to tell my parents all about it and my mom went visiting someone or other and probably isn’t coming back and my dad is stoned off his ass on the couch like he always is, so somehow I’m not getting the vibe that he’d really, you know, care, so I think, Here’s what I’m going to do: First I’ve got to make a plan.

Saint Iggy K.L. Going

It wasn’t a normal Thursday, but all day long it had seemed like one, so when the final bell rang, Mick Nichols did what he normally did.

Zipped Laura and Tom McNeal

Booklist created by Rose Allen

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 8, 2009 in Booklists

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
